110 years old, since 1910.
22 February 2020

First meeting of the SACU - EFTA Joint Committee, 3 - 4 February 2009, Pretoria, South Africa

3 February 2009

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Free Trade Agreement (FTA) entered into force on 1 May 2008.

EFTA, consists of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The aim of the agreement is to improve trade relations between SACU and EFTA Member States.

The agreement established a Joint Committee tasked with overseeing the implementation of the trade agreement. This Committee met for the first time on 4 February 2009 in Pretoria, South Africa, and was preceded by meetings of agricultural experts and the sub-committee on customs and origin issues on 3 February 2009.

The Joint Committee considered the following matters:

A work program for the coming year was developed. The next meeting will be held early in 2010 in Geneva, Switzerland. The meeting was conducted in a cordial manner, with both sides expressing their appreciation for the fact that this marks the start of an ongoing working relationship between the two sides. More information can be gained from the Deputy Director: Trade Negotiations, Mr. Rolf-Joachim Otto at rolf.otto@sacu.int.