109 years old, since 1910.
18 September 2019

Latest News

Conclusion of SACU, Mozambique and UK

Following the decision of the United Kingdom (UK) in 2016 to leave the European Union (EU), the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), Mozambique and the United Kingdom (UK) Ministers agreed to roll-over the Economic Partnership Agreement between the European Union (EU) and the SADC EPA States (EU-SADC EPA) into a new Agreement. The roll-over was on the understanding that adjustments may be needed to address specific matters.


Handover of the SACU Chairmanship

The Republic of Namibia assumed the Chairmanship of SACU, effective 15 July 2019 to 14 July 2020, taking over from the Kingdom of Lesotho, whose term commenced on 15 July 2018 and ended on 14 July 2019. The Republic of Namibia will therefore chair the SACU Summit of Heads of State or Government, the Council of Ministers and SACU Commission, respectively.


Conclusion of the Bilateral Tariff Negotiations between SACU and the EAC

CONCLUSION OF THE BILATERAL TARIFF NEGOTIATIONS BETWEEN SACU AND THE EAC 1. The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA), which was launched on 10th June 2015, aims to establish a single market for 27 African countries with a combined population of about 700 million people (57% of Africa’s population), and Gross Domestic Product above USD 1.4 trillion.


SACU Members States